Followers of Jesus sharing hope and help in our communities and beyond.
Proclaiming the Gospel of Christ for the making of Disciples.
The Parish of Hammond River was established in 1915 but an Anglican Church called Holy Trinity has been in the area since 1863. The first service was on January 1 of that year. The original Holy Trinity Church burned to the ground in 1920 when a forest fire started by a passing locomotive devastated the area. A new church-house, the current one, was consecrated in 1923 and is located beside the picturesque Hammond River. The ‘Little White Church by the Hammond River Bridge’ has long been a center for community caring and fellowship.
The church itself holds 100 people, and has a chapel that holds an additional 35 people – both are wheelchair accessible. The Chapel Reredos quilted by Judith LeClue is particularly beautiful and lends an element of prayerful peace. A Church Hall is accessible by stairs from the upstairs and has a separate outside entrance with wheelchair access. The hall has both kitchen and bathroom facilities. Located next to the hall are a library and office.